The New California IID Rule introduction
From January 1* this year, California has expanded what was previously a pilot program, trialled in four counties, into state-wide legislation. Now, if you have been convicted of a DUI (Driving under the Influence) offense, you are required to install an IID on your car, before your driving privileges will be reinstated.
The new laws have been brought into to try and reduce the level of drunk driving offenses in California, whilst still making it possible for people to go about their daily lives by car.
What is an IID?
An ID (Ignition Interlock Device) is a small device that is installed on the steering column of a vehicle. It acts like a breathalyzer and requires a driver to have a clean breath before they start their car or continue driving. If the IID detects alcohol on a driver’s breath, then the car simply will not start.
Furthermore, drivers need to provide “rolling samples” every five to fifteen minutes, and then about every three-quarters of an hour. When requested to provide a sample by the IID, the driver has six minutes to provide a sample. This is regarded as ample time to pull over safely and stop, in the event the driver thinks it unsafe to provide a sample whilst driving.
Should be a breath sample test positive at any time, then it will be recorded on the device, though it will not stop the car.
How much does an IID cost?
The average daily cost of an IID in California is around US $2.50. Additionally, some companies may charge between US $75 and US $100 for installation. Drivers also need to cover the cost of having the device tested and calibrated every two months.
if a driver cannot afford the cost of an IID installation and maintenance, they may be able to apply to the courts for financial assistance.
Which violations require installation of an IID?
The new legislation means that most people convicted of a DUI offense in California will have to have an IID installed. Under the current provisions:
First offense DUI — 6 months IID;
Second offense DUI — 12 months IID;
Third offense DUI — 24 months IID
Fourth or subsequent offenses — 36 months IID.
The new provisions do not apply to those convicted of driving under the influence of drugs. They are usually not eligible to apply for an IID.
Attempting to By-Pass the tID Any attempt to tamper, remove, or otherwise interfere with the IID will be recorded, and the driver will immediately have their privileges suspended again. The device is also calibrated to detect if somebody other than the driver is taking the test, or are using a “balloon” or a variety of other tricks to try and beat it.
Who can fit an 11D?
If you are required to fit an IID on your car by a court in California, it can only be fitted by an authorized installer. There are a number of private companies which have been approved by the courts.
Why you need to hire a DUI attorney
If you are charged with DUI (Driving under the influence) then you need to recognise that this is a serious offense which could have serious consequences for you, both now and in the future.
Even for a first-time DUI conviction you could be looking at suspension or revocation of your license, your car being impounded, a large fine, or, since January of this year, the requirement to install an ignition interlocking device (IID) in your car. You could also be required to attend mandatory driving lessons or alcohol awareness classes, and, in the worst case of all, might even be facing jail time.
And, beyond any legal sanctions involved, you face the cost of higher insurance premiums and reduced coverage, as well as the potential damage to your career and future prospects of having a criminal conviction on your record.
Whilst you may want to save on the cost of hiring an attorney for a simple DUI, this can often be a serious mistake. This is especially so if you were involved in a DUI case in which somebody was injured or even killed, if this is not your first DUI charge, or you drive for a living.
If any of these instances apply to you, then you need an experienced and specialised DU! lawyer. Not only can they help you understand the law and its implications, and explain the penalties, but they can also explain how best to defend your case. They might not be able to make it go away, but they can certainly mitigate its consequences.
And every DUI case is different — which means that the potential consequences and penalties vary as well. That is why you need to somebody who is versed in DUI law — they will know the possibilities and hidden options with which a public defender will just not be familiar. Typically they offer a free consultation up-front so you can meet with them and determine your options first before deciding to hire them.
Ealing with the Motor Vehicles Department can also be time consuming and frustrating, especially if you are new to the process. Again a DUI lawyer can help smooth the way for you, completing the necessary forms, making phone calls, and representing you at the hearing in which suspension of your license is discussed. An experienced DUI lawyer also knows their way around a courtroom, and has the personal relationships with the judges and public prosecutors that can help you obtain a lesser sentence, as well as finding the many legal loopholes that can be exploited on your behalf.
it is just because of his specialised experience as a DUI lawyer of more than 21 years standing in Fullerton, California, that so many people in Orange County turn to Ray Dinari and his firm when they are facing a DUI charge. Nobody knows the California DUI law better, or how to exploit their knowledge of the law to your advantage. His track record is second to none when it comes to successful defences or reduced charges, so, if you are facing a DUI charge in California, you know where to go.
But don’t delay — you only have 10 days from being charged with a DUI offense to save your license from suspension. Contact Ray and his team for a free consultation, today!
Ray Dinari – A DUI Attorney you can trust
California has some of the strictest driving laws in the world. Even the most law-abiding citizen can fall foul of the law if they have a blood alcohol level of 0.8% or above. That means that just one beer after work, or a single glass of wine at a party can land you in a world of trouble if you then get stopped behind the wheel of your car, and your Breathalyzer result comes back positive.
Even for a first offense DUI the penalties can be severe — fines of up to US $2,000, suspension, revocation or restriction of your driving privileges, the impounding of your car, and, under the recently enacted California law, installation of an IID (ignition interlocking device) on your car. You might even be required to attend mandatory driving classes, participate in compulsory State or DMV alcohol education programs and, in the worst case, even face jail time.
And that’s not all. A DUI conviction stays on your DMV record for ten years. That means a decade of higher insurance premiums or reduced coverage. And, if you hold a license from the State of California, then the consequences can be even more damaging — suspension, revocation or restrictions of your license, or having to be placed on probation. Moreover, DUI conviction is a matter of public record, there for anybody to see who does a background check on you when you are applying for a job or admittance to a school.
The stakes could not be higher but that does not mean there is nothing you can do about it. Whilst you may be tempted to plead guilty if it is your first DUI offense and there are no other factors involved, to avoid the fees of an attorney. But if it your second offense or more, or if there are aggravating circumstances involved, such as speeding, injuries to yourself or other road users or pedestrians, or having a very high blood alcohol content, then you need the services of an attorney, and one, at that, who knows the DUI laws inside out.
You owe it to yourself to contact the best and, if you are in the Fullerton area or in Orange County in general, there is none better or more experienced than Ray Dinari. Raised and educated in Fullerton, Ray has practised Criminal Defence Law in the State for 21 years, specialising in DUI. Nobody knows the California DUI system better, or how to mount an aggressive defence of your case, even though to you it might seem a foregone conclusion. He and his highly qualified team will sit down with you, understand the circumstances of your case, and then determine the best way to fight it.
And, before they take a cent of your money, they offer you a free consultation first to discuss the options open to you. In California, when charged with a DUI offense you only have ten days to save your license from suspension, which means you need to act now. Pick up the phone and contact Ray and his team straight away.